User Management -I

User Management -I

User Management : -

     On the User management page of your IFC cloud web  UI you can:

  • Create new users
  • View all of your users in a single scrolling window
  • Filter users by group
  • See what groups they belong to
  • Edit their full names and passwords
  • See their data storage locations
  • View and set quotas
  • Create and edit their email addresses
  • Send an automatic email notification to new users
  • Disable and Enable users
  • Delete them with a single click

   The default view displays basic information about your users.

 

 

 

 

The Group filters on the left sidebar lets you quickly filter users by theirgroup memberships, and create new groups.

 

 

Click the gear icon on the lower left sidebar to set a default storage quota,and to display additional fields: Show storage location, Show last log in,Show user backend, Send email to new users, and Show email address.

 

User accounts have the following properties:

Login Name (Username)
The unique ID of an IFC Cloud user, and it cannot be changed.
Full Name
The user’s display name that appears on file shares, the IFC Webinterface, and emails. Admins and users may change the Full Name anytime. Ifthe Full Name is not set it defaults to the login name.
Password
The admin sets the new user’s first password. Both the user and the admin canchange the user’s password at anytime.
Groups
You may create groups, and assign group memberships to users. By default newusers are not assigned to any groups.
Group Admin
Group admins are granted administrative privileges on specific groups, andcan add and remove users from their groups.
Quota
The maximum disk space assigned to each user. Any user that exceeds the quotacannot upload or sync data. You have the the option to include externalstorage in user quotas.

 

Creating a New User

To create a user account:

  • Enter the new user’s Login Name and their initial Password
  • Optionally, assign Groups memberships
  • Click the Create button

 

 

 

 

Login names may contain letters (a-z, A-Z), numbers (0-9), dashes (-),underscores (_), periods (.) and at signs (@). After creating the user, youmay fill in their Full Name if it is different than the login name, orleave it for the user to complete.

If you have checked Send email to new user in the control panel on thelower left sidebar, you may also enter the new user’s email address, and IFC will automatically send them a notification with their new logininformation. You may edit this email using the email template editor on yourAdmin page (see Email Configuration).

Set the Send email to new user-checkbox allows you to leave the Passwordfield empty. The user will get an activation-email to set his own password.

 

Reset a User’s Password

You cannot recover a user’s password, but you can set a new one:

  • Hover your cursor over the user’s Password field
  • Click on the pencil icon
  • Enter the user’s new password in the password field, and remember to providethe user with their password

If you have encryption enabled, there are special considerations for userpassword resets. Please seeEncryption Configuration.

Renaming a User

Each IFC cloud user has two names: a unique Login Name used forauthentication, and a Full Name, which is their display name. You can editthe display name of a user, but you cannot change the login name of any user.

To set or change a user’s display name:

  • Hover your cursor over the user’s Full Name field
  • Click on the Pencil icon
  • Enter the user’s new display name

Granting Administrator Privileges to a User

IFC cloud has two types of administrators: Super Administrators and GroupAdministrators. Group administrators have the rights to create, edit anddelete users in their assigned groups. Group administrators cannot accesssystem settings, or add or modify users in the groups that they are not GroupAdministrators for. Use the dropdown menus in the Group Admin column toassign group admin privileges.

 

 

 

 

Super Administrators have full rights on your IFC  server, and canaccess and modify all settings. To assign the Super Administrators role toa user, simply add them to the admin group.

 

 

 

Managing Groups

You can assign new users to groups when you create them, and create new groupswhen you create new users. You may also use the Add Group button at the topof the left pane to create new groups. New group members will immediatelyhave access to file shares that belong to their new groups.

 

 

Setting Storage Quotas

Click the gear on the lower left pane to set a default storage quota. This isautomatically applied to new users. You may assign a different quota to any userby selecting from the Quota dropdown, selecting either a preset value orentering a custom value. When you create custom quotas, use the normalabbreviations for your storage values such as 500 MB, 5 GB, 5 TB, and so on.

You now have a configurable option in config.php that controls whetherexternal storage is counted against user’s quotas. This is stillexperimental, and may not work as expected. The default is to not countexternal storage as part of user storage quotas. If you prefer to include it,then change the default false to true.:

 

 

'quota_include_external_storage' => false,

 

 

Metadata (such as thumbnails, temporary files, and encryption keys) takes upabout 10% of disk space, but is not counted against user quotas. Users can checktheir used and available space on their Personal pages. Only files thatoriginate with users count against their quotas, and not files shared with themthat originate from other users. For example, if you upload files to adifferent user’s share, those files count against your quota. If you re-share afile that another user shared with you, that file does not count against yourquota, but the originating user’s.

Encrypted files are a little larger than unencrypted files; the unencrypted sizeis calculated against the user’s quota.

Deleted files that are still in the trash bin do not count against quotas. Thetrash bin is set at 50% of quota. Deleted file aging is set at 30 days. Whendeleted files exceed 50% of quota then the oldest files are removed until thetotal is below 50%.

When version control is enabled, the older file versions are not countedagainst quotas.

When a user creates a public share via URL, and allows uploads, any uploadedfiles count against that user’s quota.

 

 

Disable and Enable users

Sometimes you may want to disable a user without permanently deleting hissettings and files. The user can be activated any time again, without data-loss.

Hover your cursor over their name on the Users page until the “…”-menu iconappears at the far right. After clicking on it, you will see the Disable option.

The user will not longer be able to access his IFC until you enable him again.Keep in mind that the files, which were shared by this user will not longer be accessible.

You will find all disabled users in the disabled-section on the left pane.Enabling users is as easy as disabling them. Just click on the “…”-menu, andselect Enable.

 

 

Deleting users

Deleting a user is easy: hover your cursor over their name on the Users pageuntil the “…”-menu icon appears at the far right. After clicking on it, you willsee the Delete option. Clicking on it, delets a user with all his data immediately.

You’ll see an undo button at the top of the page, which remains for some seconds.When the undo button is gone you cannot recover the deleted user.

All of the files owned by the user are deleted as well, including all files theyhave shared. If you need to preserve the user’s files and shares, you must firstdownload them from your IFC Files page, which compresses them into a zipfile, or use a sync client to copy them to your local computer. SeeFile Sharing to learn how to createpersistent file shares that survive user deletions.

  • 0 Users Found This Useful
Was this answer helpful?

Related Articles

Uploading big files

  Uploading big files The default maximum file size for uploads is 512MB. You can increase...

Providing Default Files

You may distribute a set of default files and folders to all users by placingthem in directory...

Automated tagging of files

IFC’s Files Automated Tagging app allows to assign collaborative tagsto files and folders based...

Table of Contents

List of All Topics Coverd User Management  User Management-I User Management -II...

User Management - II

User Management - II Resetting a Lost Admin Password Resetting a User Password...